First Day of Spring!

Today is the first day of spring here in the Great White North and its a lovely sunny day. I ate my lunch on my back deck with just a super warm fleece on. Our house faces North/South more or less, so we can make good use of passive solar sunlight.

Today in the kitchen I tried two new recipes for home cleaning: a powdered laundry detergent instead of the whipped one I usually make, and a liquid dish-washing gel. Both took me less than 1/2 hr to make, and in the case of the dish-washing gel, gave me more than enough to last upwards of several months ( so I hope it works well!!!).

We didn’t get a chance to do a syrup boil off since the weather hasn’t really been good for it so far this year in our area. So I will have to be sure to stock up on maple syrup and maple sugar this year as we won’t likely be able to earn any.  Bummer 😦

Finally I am writing again, and it feels good.!Words are flowing, more or less, and I’ve had a few times where I’ve chuckled over something I’ve written, not believing that I wrote something that funny. Mind you, I have a very british type of humour and what I find funny, some do not, so you’ll have to take that with a grain of salt. Still, it feels good to be able to put fingers to keyboard and create again.

This is birthday alley for our family, with 5 ( or 6?) birthdays in the next few weeks. My daughter is the last of the run of birthdays and is still young enough to qualify for a ‘birthday party’. Yesterday, we spent many hours looking through pintrest to come up with a theme and how we could make it work. I managed to get totally frustrated by the computer because I am not very computer literate and can’t get it to do what I want it to do. A very nice employee spent the better part of a hour with me this morning trying to figure it out, but all we managed were invitations and cardboard Eiffel towers. Anyhoo, it is what it is and I will just have to accept defeat and hope I can figure out some other way of accomplishing the goal.

Here’s the menu for this week:

Saturday: curry chicken, riced cauliflower and salad ( it was very yummy)

Sunday: Sausages, baked potatoes ( or roasted) and salad

Monday: Lentil stew (woops, need to make broth for that!)

Tuesday: Salmon, salad and steamed broccoli

Wednesday: Pork Casserole and Salad

Thursday: Pasta

Friday: Homemade pizza

This week, make sure you get out and enjoy the fresh air and what sunshine can be found, even if its only for 5 minutes at a lunch hour. Be sure to love on your family, if you don’t have any, love on your ‘family by choice’; those people whom you choose to call family. HUGS!

Leave a Reply

